ICC announced the Men’s and Women’s T20I Teams of the Year for 2023

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the men’s and women’s T20I teams of the year for 2023, To recognize exceptional performance in the shortest format of the game. The selection highlights players who have excelled with the bat, ball or as an all-rounder throughout the calendar year.

ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year 2023 Overview

The men’s T20I team of the year 2023 is a mix of rising stars and established talent from around the world. It includes players from India, England, West Indies, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Uganda and Ireland.

Key members and performances

  1. Suryakumar Yadav (India, Captain): This flamboyant middle-order batsman scored 733 runs in 17 innings at an average of 48.86 and strike rate of 155.95, which included two centuries and five half-centuries.
  2. Yashasvi Jaiswal (India): The young opening batsman scored 430 runs in 15 matches, including a T20I century.
  3. Phil Salt (England): Salt played several impressive innings for England, including two consecutive centuries against the West Indies.
  4. Nicholas Pooran (West Indies): The wicketkeeper-batsman scored 384 runs in 13 innings.
  5. Mark Chapman (New Zealand): Chapman led the Black Caps in T20I runs with 576 runs at an average of 44.30.
  6. Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe): It was a great year for Raza and he contributed consistently with the bat.
  7. Alpesh Ramadani (Uganda): Ramazani played a key role in Uganda’s qualification for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup by contributing with both bat and ball.
  8. Mark Adair (Ireland): Adair took 26 wickets at an economy of 7.42.
  9. Ravi Bishnoi (India): The leg spinner became the number 1 bowler in the ICC T20 bowling rankings by the end of the year.
  10. Richard Ngarwa (Zimbabwe): Part of the bowling lineup, Ngarawa’s performance was crucial for Zimbabwe.
  11. Arshdeep Singh (India): The left-arm fast bowler took 26 wickets in 21 matches.

team dynamics

The team is characterized by a mix of young enthusiasm and experienced campaigners. The presence of players from non-traditional cricket playing countries like Uganda is testament to the growing global reach of T20 cricket.

ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year 2023 Overview

The Women’s T20I squad of the year 2023 also includes a mix of established and emerging players from different cricket countries.

Key members and performances

  1. Chamari Athapaththu (Sri Lanka, Captain): Led the team and his performance in both ODI and T20 was excellent.
  2. Deepti Sharma (India): Deepti’s economical bowling and consistent batting performance in the lower order earned her a place.
  3. Beth Mooney (Australia, wicketkeeper): A key member of the Australian setup.
  4. Ellyse Perry (Australia): Perry remains an important all-rounder for Australia.
  5. Ashley Gardner (Australia): Another important cog in the Australian team, who is contributing with both bat and ball.
  6. Megan Schutt (Australia): Shutt’s bowling ability makes him an integral part of the Australian bowling attack.
  7. Nat Sciver-Brunt (England): A leading all-rounder for England.
  8. Sophie Ecclestone (England): Famous for his spin bowling skills.
  9. Laura Wolvaardt (South Africa): A consistent performer for South Africa.
  10. Hayley Matthews (West Indies): Important all-rounder of West Indies team.
  11. Amelia Kerr (New Zealand): Kerr’s all-round ability is important for New Zealand.

team dynamics

The 2023 Women’s T20I squad reflects the growing stature of women’s cricket globally, featuring players from traditional powerhouses such as Australia and England as well as emerging cricket nations.

ICC announces men's and women's T20I teams of the year for 2023_40.1

Leave a Comment